The Pentecostal side of Christianity in India has been mostly an unorganized sector for centuries. While a few Pentecostal churches were organization based, the rest remained indigenously facing its own challenges and toiling individually. The need for the synergy of coming together and working hand-in-hand has been greatly realized over centuries to get rid of challenges and tap potential opportunities by becoming a John-17 movement, while continually retaining freedom and individual identities..

By God’s prompting and abundant grace, for the surprise of every spectator, Synod of Pentecostal Churches was born on 15 July 2007. It was registered as a Trust on 29 Sept 2008 in Chennai formed to represent all Pentecostal churches as a single body for the sake of welfare, protection and growth of God’s ministry and ministers. The Synod of Pentecostal Churches was dedicated on 28 Sept 2009 in Chennai Island Grounds, which was attended by eminent personalities like Dr Paul Dinakaran, and others. The then Deputy Chief Minister of Tamilnadu Mr.M.K.Stalin has forwarded his greetings through Honble Minister for Electricity Mr.Arcot Veerasamy, brought by Bishop Ezra Sargunam. The same was converted into a Society on 4th Jan 2014.

Some of the founding fathers of the Synod are: Late Pr Owen Roberts, Pr D Mohan, Pr Henry Joseph, Pr Charles Finny Joseph, Pr KB Edison, Late Pr M Rajendran, Pr David Prakasam, Late Pr Sam Sundaram, Pr Vinil satish, Pr JJY Arul, Pr S Anand, and others.

Get In Touch